よろしくおねがいします!

I am a gaijin. I come from Europe, and speak so little Japanese, that I actually take pride in writing the title of this blog in kanji.

Since living in Japan is full of awkward, funny or plain disturbing experiences, I would like to share them with those who have the hots for Japan through a safe distance of thousands of kilometres, but nevertheless want to get some inside scoop.

And of course, those, who are going through a similar period of gaijin-hood and seek to share their exciting experiences. Like, when I’ll be writing a post “Why no one shaves in Japan”, perhaps you’ll be the one nodding enthusiastically, saying “YES!!!YES!!! I noticed that too!!!! Let me tell you my story…”, which I am very curious to hear! Afterall, being a gaijin in Japan at times makes you long for some sort of AA type of group counselling, right?

Well, and at the end of each post I’ll include some translations of the too-cool-for-school phrases, for those less familiar with the local slang:

Gaijin (kanji: 外人; hiragana: がいじん) is a shorter and slightly slangy version of the word “gaikokujin” (kanji: 外国人; hiragana: がいこくじん) meaning “foreigner”. Often heard in combination with “baka” (kanji:馬鹿 (horse + deer); hiragana:ばか) meaning “idiot, fool”. I say that loudly to my gaijin friends when they struggle with their suica cards…and watch the Japanese reactions. Few can keep a straight face! Some even look mortified. They probably think I read their minds.

18 responses to “よろしくおねがいします!

  1. I know exactly what you mean when it comes to writing insignifigant little things in Japanese yet feeling so proud that you did that! I get that feeling everytime I can remember some stupid thing like the name of a colour or if I can point to something in the kitchen and say its name haha!

    I’ll be going to Japan in March so I look forward to reading your experiences and hopefully I will have access to a computer to share my gaijin experiences too =)

    Ashi

  2. Ooh I forgot to add, email Leah at this blog: http://geisha-interrupted.typepad.com

    and she may add you to her blogroll of people blogging from Japan =)

    Shes got about a years worth of posts of really funny, interesting and even some down-right crazy experiences living as a gaijin that I love reading, so I recommend having a read sometime =)

  3. hey! Thanks for the comments! :)

    Japanese is craaaazy, isn’t it! How long have you been learning it for…?

    Actually, I was taking a train to this ridiculously long named station the other day, and I could only read the last of the 10 or so kanji…which of course was 駅 so it wasn’t even that helpful. And I’ve been learning Japanese for 2 years now….how embarassing…

    Oh, and I had a look at that blog, it looked interesting! Thanks for the link!

    OK, I’m off to experiment with some local cuisine…Hopefully, I’ll add some recipes soon ;)

  4. I’ve only been learning since about September/October 07, and its all self-taught. So I can guarantee you that I suck at it XD But yeah, its pretty crazy stuff ^^

    Hmm, do you carry a camera, or a mobile/cellphone that can take pics, around with you? I know I’ve got 2 years less experience than you and I’m not really qualified to be offering advice, but maybe you could take a picture of the kanji you find you have trouble with and think you will need to learn, and then when you get home you can look the kanji up?

    Its no problem, I ended up pulling an all-nighter the night I found her blog and I read it from the first post right up to the latest post like a book lol. In my defence, I get insomnia so I wasn’t stalking her blog or anything, I was keeping myself entertained XD But yeah, its really interesting.

    Ooh, food is one of my minor concerns for when I go there… but I’ll try any food that I’m offered anyway ^^
    Recipes would be a great addition to the blog! Good idea!

  5. Hey man, I spent some time over in Tokyo and exploring the rest of the archipelago. I posted a few comments early on in my blog about my time over there, it’s wild. Tokyo has some real sights and sounds, I spent a lot of time in Shinjuku and some of the other areas. Let me know if you’re still there and I’ll do my best to point out some sites and sounds.

  6. Yes, I’m still here actually! I just had a shortage of internet access (it almost sounds silly to say that while living in Japan) but I’d be totally up for hearing your tips and tricks!

  7. In 1989 Bob Plath said that wheels on the luggage
    would eliminate the need to lug all those bags and ease
    the strain on the back. Were you aware that if you don’t want to both with your
    luggage at all when you travel you can use a luggage delivery service.
    In India you have a large variety of destinations to choose from
    to spend your hard earned vacation.

  8. Most stores that sell luggage and related accessories have their own websites and blogs where honest
    reviews are shared. Because of my status on the airlines I fly regularly I fly first
    class more often than not at no additional cost. to break
    their routine and enjoy the freedom of getting away from it all.

  9. You will be equipped to do whatever you make sure you and will have heaps of
    fun breaking all the policies you typically have to obey.
    This wonderful and loving couple is very happy in their marriage.
    In as much as the shoes that will be available
    in the general stores might be looking all good, they might not end up being the best option for you.

  10. Nice post. I was checking continuously this weblog and
    I am inspired! Extremely useful info specifically the ultimate phase :) I take care of such information a lot.
    I was looking for this particular information for a long time.
    Thanks and best of luck.

  11. The far more crucial aspect, essentially, is if the guidelines (created up or
    original or altered) are followed. If you want to tap into the industry of games ahead
    of it gets too crowded, you must make a move now.

  12. Don’t forget that your aim is to catch him or her proper in the moment of weakness.

  13. Hello! Someone iin my Myspace group shared this websire with us so I came to take a look.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and
    will be tweeting this to my followers! Terrific blog and outstanding design and style.

  14. I visit each day a few sites and blogs to read content, however
    this weblog gives quality based posts.

  15. * A sitemap to navigate your website is helpful for
    visitors to access main pages. In addition, the observing surgeons could transmit their comments to the
    operating surgeon, who could read them on the Google Glass monitor.

    Reputation Defense Online an around the world Cyber Investigation along with Litigation Assistance Agency for Net Defamation, often receives inquiries from attorneys along with law enforcement agencies on the
    way to subpoena Google’s Legal Division.

  16. I am actually pleased to read this blog posts which contains lots
    of helpful information, thanks for providing these kinds of statistics.

  17. It is usually a good suggestion to spend money on baggage
    that has wheels on the bottom. What I have learned is that cost is not always an indicator
    of performance. Function, style, and durability; these are the most common criteria we normally
    use in order to purchase clothing and luggage we take with us on a
    trip.

  18. Thanks , I’ve just been looking for info approximately this topic
    for a long time and yours is the best I’ve came upon till now.

    However, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you sure in regards to the supply?

Leave a Reply

